Council Information

Top Row: CAO Murray Millward, Councillor Michael Loose, Councillor Broyce Jacobs, Councillor Roger Houghton
Bottom Row: Councillor Jim Bester, Councillor Fred Lacey, Councillor Lloyd Kearl, Councillor Duncan Thompson

Our Mission and Vision

Our Mission is to provide the citizens of Cardston County and orchestrate the infrastructure with a stable & reasonable taxation system

Our Vision is to create a community where families want to live, enjoy the beauty of our environment and the western heritage of the area and maintain the values, integrity and respect that created Cardston County:

Honest, hard work, helping hands, and a concern for the environment.
A place we are all proud of.

Council Strategic Plan

Council Meetings

Cardston County's Council meetings are held on the 2nd Monday of each month. Occasionally we require a second meeting during the month which will be held after the Municipal Planning Commission meeting on the 4th Monday of each month.

Council Meeting agendas will be posted to Cardston County's Facebook and on our hompage as early as possible.
The minutes from Cardston County Council Meetings are approved at subsequent Council Meetings. The minutes are posted here as soon as they are approved by Council.

Council Meeting Meeting Minutes

You can easily search, navigate and print documents our policies, bylaws, and other documents using the window below or you can click here to open in new window.

Council Presentations and Community Donations

If you would like to make a presentation to Council or appear as a delegation at one of our Council Meetings, please complete the Council Presentation Form and submit it to us by email, fax, or in person. We will try to schedule your presentation during the next Council Meeting.

If you would like request a donation from Cardston County for your community organization or event, please read our Community Donations Policy and complete the Donation Request Form and submit it to us by email, fax, or in person.

Each Councillor is allocated $500 in our budget annually to donate to the community organization(s) or event(s) of their choice. We recommend that you contact your division Councillor to take advantage of their annual donation fund.

Councillors and Divisions

County Councillor - Division 1 Broyce Jacobs
Email     Phone: (403) 915-6375

County Councillor - Division 2 Fred Lacey (Deputy Reeve)
Email     Phone: (403) 634-6715

County Councillor - Division 3 Roger Houghton
Email     Phone: (403) 634-7281

County Councillor - Division 4 Jim Bester (Reeve)
Email     Phone: (403) 331-5481

County Councillor - Division 5 Lloyd Kearl
Email     Phone: (403) 448-0262

Lloyd became an elected Counselor of Cardston County in 2010. With an MBA degree (BYU), Law degree (U. of Alberta), and profession accounting designation (CPA, Oregon), Lloyd has had a successful career as Chief Financial officer of fast growing high tech companies in both the U.S. and Canada. As such, he has assisted businesses from 5 to 1500 employees with negotiating and selecting expansion locations, business planning, locating and negotiating funding from banks and government entities, and structuring and negotiating business sales and purchases.
Lloyd and his wife Linda built a home on their ranch just outside of Cardston in 2008 where he enjoys his horses, quading, visits from their five children and other family and neighbours. in addition, he enthusiastically participates in Rotary and church activities.
Lloyd appreciates the opportunity to serve the hard working folk of Cardston County where his family have enjoyed living for many generations. He is committed to keeping property taxes down while providing quality County services, and encouraging responsible economic growth to maintain a stable population.
County Councillor - Division 6 Duncan Thompson

County Councillor - Division 7 Mike Loose
Email     Phone: (403) 634-7344